Puerto Rican Double-A Superior League semifinals start 25 August

Puerto Rican Double-A Superior League semifinals start 25 August
Gurabo-Cayey and Camuy-Cabo Royo will play the best-of-seven series through 9 September. The winners will compete for the title in the final series.

The Puerto Rican Double-A Superio League semifinals open on Friday, 25 August. The best-of-seven series between Halcones de Gurabo-Toritos del Cayey and Arenosos Camuy-Piratas de Cabo Royo will run through Saturday, 9 September,

The defending champions Toritos del Cayey and Piratas de Cabo Rojo qualified for the semifinals of the Puerto Rican Double-A Superior League at the end of the eight-team round-robin named Carnaval de Campeones.

Los Halcones de Gurabo won a three-team mini tournament to become the third semifinalist.

Arenosos de Camuy defeated Guardianes de Dorado in a one-game playoff to clinch the fourth and final spot.

Cayey are the only 2022 semifinalists to repeat. The defending champions are also the only semifinalists to previously win the title. They earned four Double-A League pennants.

Gurabo and Camuy have never previously reached the final. Cabo Royo last appeared in the final series in 1996.

The Superior Double-A League is the top competition organized by the Baseball Federation of Puerto Rico (FBPR).