Puerto Rico Baseball: U-18 Double-A League final to open on 28 January

Puerto Rico Baseball: U-18 Double-A League final to open on 28 January
The best-of-five series will be a 2022-23 final rematch between Guaynabo Mets and Jabucoa Azucareros. The 2024 Copa de Campeones will serve as a pre-season warm-up to the Double-A league, which is set to open on 18 February in Camuy.

The best-of-five final series of the 2023-24 Puerto Rican U-18 Double-A League will open on Sunday, 28 January, at the Néstor Morales Stadium in Humacao. The defending champions, Guaynabo Mets will take on the Jabucoa Azucareros in a rematch of last year's final.

Meanwhile, the Puerto Rico Baseball Federation (FBPR) announced that the 2024 Superior Double-A League would open on 18 February at the Juan Cheo Lopez Stadium, the home of the defending champions Arenosos in Camuy. They will face Tigres de Hatillo. The other teams will take the field on 23 February.

It's the 84th edition of the Superior Double-A League and will have 45 participating teams. Three former Major League Baseball (MLB) players will be managers in the 2024 Double-A League. Juan Igor Gonzalez will manage the Cayey Toritos. Edwards Guzman will lead the Caguas Criollos. Luis Wicho Figueroa will serve as the skipper for Vega Baja Melao Melao.

The 2024 edition is dedicated to Luis Rivera Toledo, who will officiate the ceremonial first pitch on Opening Day. Rivera was a physical education teacher who contributed to baseball as a player, umpire, scorer, coach and executive.

Two weeks before opening day, the eight Conference winners of the 2023 season will compete in the 16th Champions Cup (Copa de Campeones) in Camuy.

The U-23 league will run parallel to the Double-A season.