Puerto Rico's Superior Double-A League to open season on 27 June following 2020 shutdown

Puerto Rico's Superior Double-A League to open season on 27 June following 2020 shutdown
The 2020 season was cancelled amid the COVID-19 outbreak. Puerto Rico's National Team manager Igor Gonzalez (pictured above) is one of five skippers with MLB experience as players.

The Puerto Rican Baseball Federation has announced that the Superior Double-A League, the island's semi-pro league, will open on Sunday, 27 June. The 2020 season was cancelled due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

"We had to adjust to the current situation. The island has to come to terms with the restrictions imposed by the COVID-19 pandemic," said Puerto Rican Baseball Federation President José Daniel Quiles Rosas.

The Superior Double-A League features 43 participating teams. A total of 19 games are scheduled for opening day.

Juan Igor Gonzalez, the current skipper of the Puerto Rican National Team, will manage the Grises de Humacao. He is one of the five managers with a Major League Baseball (MLB) career as player. The others are Benito Santiago (Poetas de Juana Díaz), Luis Matos (Maceteros de Vega Alta), Luis López (Bravos de Cidra) and Álex Díaz (Piratas de Cabo Rojo).

MLB star-catcher Yadier Molina is the owner of the Guardianes de Dorado.

The federation launched a hashtag to celebrate the opening day: #VolvemosPalParque (We're back at the ballpark).

A number of restrictions to fight the spreading of COVID-19 cases are still being applied. The venues can be filled up to 75% maximum capacity.

The federation is dedicating the 2021 season to Félix ‘Cuco’ Dávila, who won five league titles with the Mulos de Juncos. Dávila will officiate the ceremonial first pitch at the game between the Muls and the Artesanos de Las Piedras.

You might also be interested in:
- 2019 champions waited one year to receive their trophy
- Diamilette Quiles first woman to compete in Double-A league
- Toritos win 2018 Double-A league