WBSC Family

The World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) is the world governing body for the sports of Baseball, Softball and Baseball5. It was established in 2013 by the merger of the International Baseball Federation (IBAF) and the International Softball Federation (ISF), the former world governing bodies for baseball and softball, respectively. Under WBSC's organisational structure, IBAF and ISF now serve as Baseball Division and Softball Division of WBSC. Each Division is governed by an Executive Committee, while the WBSC is governed by an Executive Board.

Headquartered in Pully, Switzerland, the WBSC was granted recognition as the sole competent global authority for both the sports of baseball and softball by the International Olympic Committee at the 125th IOC Session on 8 September 2013.

The WBSC has 191 National Federation Members in 136 countries and territories across Asia, Africa, Americas, Europe and Oceania. Professional baseball organisations as well as youth organisations are also included and form an arm of the WBSC as Associate Members.

As the recognised governing body in baseball/softball, the WBSC is charged with overseeing all international competitions and holds the exclusive rights of all competitions, tournaments and world championships featuring National Teams. These rights extend to the Olympic Games, with baseball and softball returning to the Olympic Programme for the 2020 Games. WBSC's Members hold the rights to organise and select National Teams. This exclusive authority of the WBSC and its Members in each constituent country to sanction and regulate the sport of baseball applies in the 136 territories in which the WBSC has an Associated National Federation.

WBSC By-Laws Protocol
Click here for the WBSC Protocol By-Laws