Caribbean Baseball Cup to inaugurate new format

Caribbean Baseball Cup to inaugurate new format
The nine participants will be split into two groups: Elite and Development. Each will have its champion.

There will be a novel format for the third edition of the Caribbean Baseball Cup, which is scheduled to take place from 17 to 24 April at Tao Daou Stadium in Willemstad, Curaçao.

The nine participating squads will be split into two groups: Elite and Development. The two groups will have parallel schedules, and they will crown their own champions.

You might also be interested in:
- Caribbean Baseball Cup to be played in April
Curaçao names former minor leaguer Hainley Statia as National Team manager
Baseball in Dominican Republic gets government support for 2021 National Teams, events
Dominican Republic supports baseball development in Haiti
- Dominican Republic wins inaugural Caribbean Baseball Cup

Two-time defending champions of the Dominican Republic, Pan American Games champs Puerto Rico, Cuba, Panama and hosts Curaçao will compete in the Elite group.

The U.S. Virgin Islands, Chile, Peru and Haiti will play in the Development group.

The tournament will open on Saturday, 17 April, with the Elite group. The Dominican Republic and Cuba will play the afternoon game. The night game between Curaçao and Puerto Rico will follow the Opening Ceremony.

Panama will make their debut in the tournament against Puerto Rico on Sunday, 18 April.

The Development group will also open on Sunday, 18 April, with a morning game between Chile and Haiti, and an afternoon game between Peru and the Virgin Islands.

Manuel Frias, Secretary-General of the Baseball Confederation of the Caribbean (COCABE, Confederación del Caribe de Béisbol), has been named the Tournament Director.